After two rounds of play, CMN Sunyuktha, P Saravanakrishna and CS Sridhar share the lead among 50 players in the Kanchipuram District Open Chess Championship, sponsored by the Government of Tamil Nadu in association with Tamil Nadu State Chess Association. The event was inaugurated by Minister TKM Chinnaiah.

The top ten from 32 districts will participate in the Chief Minister’s Trophy, which will carry a total prize purse of `5,00,000. The meet will be held from November 16 to 18.

City Beat Districts

Shahrukh Khan’s four for 27 and GV Vignesh’s 74 helped City XI post a six-wicket win over Combined Districts in the TNCA U-19 second one-dayer at Marina grounds.

Brief scores: Combined Districts 217/9 in 50 ovs (J Koushik 72, Ashwath Mukunthan 3/34, M Shahrukh Khan 4/27) lost to City 218/4 in 47 overs (GV Vignesh 74, K Mukunth 49, K Vishal Vaidhya 48 no).

Pradhan Hits Ton

B Pradhan’s unbeaten century (112 no) was the feature of  Chettinad Vidyashrm’s 147-run win over Chinmya Vidyalaya, Virugambakkam, in the Chennai leg of the Junior Super Kings inter-school T20 championship.

In another match, St Bede’s, riding half-centuries by GK Shyam (60) and S Lokeshar (61) defeated Don Bosco, Perambur, by 191 runs.

Brief scores: St Bede’s 225/4 in 20 ovs (GK Shyam 60,  S Lokeshwar 61) bt Don Bosco Hr Sec School, Perambur, 34 in 15.3 ovs (Sugantha Rajan 3/10). MoM: S Lokeshwar. PS Matric Hr Sec School, Mylapore, 79 in 19.4 ovs (U Sachin Kailash 2/15) lost to MCC Hr Sec School, Chetpet, 83/1 in 13.3 ovs (U Sachin Kailash 37 no). MoM: U Sachin Kailash. St Michael’s Academy, Adyar, 62 in 18.1 ovs (C Shiva Narayan 3/11) lost to Vidya Mandir Sr Sec School, Mylapore, 65/5 in 9.2 ovs (Vigneshwar 3/18). MoM: C Shiva Narayan. Chettinad Vidyashram, RA Puram 214/1 in 20 ovs (B Pradhan 112 no, S Shyam Sundar 85 no) bt Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Virugambakkam, 67/9 in 20 ovs (R Thiru Vikraman 33, KR Abishek 3/15). MoM: B Pradhan.

(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)